Waiting on Him

As in the words of Tom Petty, “The waiting is the hardest part……”

He is so right!

Is waiting not the epitome of patience?!

But they that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint. Isaiah 40:31

This verse struck me so powerfully the first time I saw it, and I hadn’t been studying The Word. I was at a place in my life where I knew I needed to stop running my life my own way and turn back to God. I saw the verse on a little wooden cross and decided I needed to go to that verse in the bible and study it. I ended up finding all kinds of verses in the Book of Isaiah that struck me so deeply and hit right on what I needed to hear from God at that time. I had never read the bible so clearly in all my life! And I had made several attempts before, ending in more confusion than anything! (FYI, Don’t ever start trying to read the bible in Genesis! Once it gets to the begats, forget it!)

Waiting on God can be tremendous torture! It is also one of the most rewarding things you can ever do!

Romans Ch.5 vs. 3,4 says ~ And not only so, but we glory in tribulations also: knowing that tribulation worketh patience; And patience, experience; and experience, hope:

After waiting on God and His perfect timing, things end up in a way that we could have never even imagined, way better than we could have ever planned…

“Well I will walk by faith even though I cannot see, Because this broken road prepares your will for me..” Jeremy Camp 

Feeling like your walking blindly, spiritually, can be, well, severely frustrating … We have to remind ourselves, it only feels that way and that it’s not the truth. We are never safer than when we are walking with God and He carries us and goes before us! So, to walk by faith sometimes may feel like walking blind, but it’s actually walking more clearly than we can ever know in our limited human abilities.

The devil used this tactic against me one time and it got the better of me. I constantly felt like I was walking a tightrope over a pit of fire, or a balance beam and with every step I felt myself starting to stumble and lose my balance. I had been walking with Him so faithfully for nearly two years and I couldn’t stand feeling the way I was feeling any longer. I was tired. I was weak. I didn’t know back then how much God loved me, and honestly I’m still learning, as I said before, within my limited human ability to do so. I’m realizing God loves me so much that I’ll never know exactly how deep His love is until I get to heaven and get to be in His presence. Back when I was struggling with balance, I had a mindset, (and unfortunately I had people close to me, only fueling the fire, and sadly they were all other “Christians”) that I had to walk this fine line and that if I didn’t then God would not protect me and God would not be there for me if I fell. I felt like I had to be perfect, in my thoughts, in my ways, in my words. It felt as though I had to live up to a certain standard for God to love me. Sadly I did not know that this was the devil and that my thinking was just ALL WRONG!

I gave up. I couldn’t take it anymore. I couldn’t go on trying to please an impossible standard. The expectation was too high and I was striving to reach the unreachable.

What I learned? Well a big lesson. It took a lot more blows to the soul to send me down the right path, this time. The other path wasn’t exactly wrong (at least not in the sense that I was deliberately walking the wrong path) but it wasn’t right either. The big picture I had of God was wrong but the little things were being shown to me. So if I would’ve waited on God then, would I have been shown a different, easier way? Only God knows, but it showed me that I’d rather wait on Him than give up again!!!!!!!! I know there will be times of pain when I want to give up, but I believe I have a stronger stance and foundation than I did before and this, gives me hope.

I can’t explain it fully, I just know that God started wiping down foggy windows in my mind. I could see God before, but not clearly. I could see him in an impressionistic sense, but not detailed, not defined, it was like looking through glass that is all steamed up with condensation. He started clearing out the trash in my head about perfectionism and impossible standards. One swipe at a time a little more clear and a little more, and one day, the view will be so clearly, beautifully, indescribable…

Waiting on Him is so worth it……..

Encourage one another to wait on Him….

Pray for each other…….

Love one another…..

Wait on Him….

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

