*Exactly Where God Wants Us… ?

I have often thought for a long time now, that we are exactly where we are supposed to be in life. Exactly where God wants us. This has lead me to believe that we should live with no regrets, no looking back to the past and begin thinking the What if’s, and If only; and start analyzing pointless scenarios that cannot be changed anyhow, no matter how hard we think about it, it only leads to sorrow and the possibilities of   thinking I should have chosen that guy who was truly in love with me, or that girl who gave you her whole heart…. Or it gets us thinking that maybe we should have taken that job offer that would have moved you to the warm south that had a little less pay than the one you ended up taking which took you to cold and snowy New York (even though you hate cold winters). What if you would have saved yourself for the man or woman you were to marry, then you would have a special relationship with your spouse that cannot ever happen now, a bond that is sacred and can only happen when you choose to save yourself for that person you marry. What if you hadn’t had that abortion 25 years ago, the child you could have had, would now possibly be giving you grand children and written a book that helped millions of peoples’ lives. What if you had married your high school sweetheart and lived happily ever after with 2 children, a dog and a white picket fence.

Do you see the sorrow in thinking about the What if’s and if only’s?

Yet somehow there are times in my life, especially when looking at old pictures or reliving old memories, that I cannot help but wonder if my life would be somehow any better, or more exciting, or a little more comfortable financially, or would I have a better partner who gets me much more deep down to my soul than the person I’m with now. It begins to make me sad and depressed. I look at my beautiful children and think, if only I could keep my children and go back and do things differently. Ha ha! I begin to fathom the complete impossibilities and then laugh at myself for being so silly. 

I suppose all we can do is be grateful that there is a God above who can help us through our silly decisions and be thankful for what we do have and to stop thinking about what we could have had, because after all, if we had chosen different paths, life now may be even worse than what we currently have!!!

We can look through different glasses and still never know what God truly intended for us....

We can look through different glasses and still never know what God truly intended for us….

What do you think?

Do you think we are exactly where God wants us? Or are we simply here because these are the paths we chose and God is helping us make the best of where we are?

Leave a Reply

